Personal Growth, Spirituality

Lord Shiva | The Auspicious One | 14 Life Lessons | He Teaches Us

“Om Namah Shivaya.”

Lord Shiva, the destroyer of evil, is one of the principal deities in Hindu culture. Recognized as one of the Trimurti (Triumvirate) – Brahma (The Creator), Vishnu (The Preserver) & Shiva (The Destroyer), also revered as Maheshwara (The Powerful One).

His abode is Kailash Mountain and his consort Goddess Parvati. Blessed with two divine souls – Lord Ganesha (The God of Intellect & Wisdom) and Kartikeya (The God of War & Victory) as their offsprings.

Shiva Parivaar (Family of Lord Shiva) is an auspicious figurine to magnify the positivity of your home and for the prosperity, peace, and the well-being of the family.

As a tribute to Lord Shiva, I shall decipher the second and third syllable of the Shiv Chalisa – a devotional stotra dedicated to Mahadeva (The Supreme God), asking for his aid to eliminate the suffering and obstacles in life. 

It’s recommended to recite Shiva Chalisa with great faith and virtue, focusing your mind on Lord Shiva’s image, to receive his blessings.

The second and third verses of Shiv Chalisa celebrates the glory of Kailashnath (The Master of Mount Kailash).

O Glorious Lord, consort of Parvati. You are the most compassionate deity. You are always supporting your poor and ardent devotees. 

Your beautiful silhouette endowed with the Moon on your forehead, on your ears, dangles the earrings of the serpent’s hood.

The Holy Ganges emanates from your thick gorgeous strands; Your glorious appearance entices the saints and sages. Around your neck is a garland of Skulls. White Ashes illuminating your grace and garb of Tigerskin adorns your body.

Every element of Lord Shiv has a profound significance to it. Let’s dive deeper and yield to the glory of Shiv and comprehend Mahadev’s innate greatness: 

Trishul (The Trident) :

Described as the “Weapon of Lord Mahadev.” Trishul holds the potential to eliminate three realms of illusion: the material world (Physical), the world of incarnations (Karma) and the world of the Ego (Mind).

Rudraksha :

Rudraksha is a Sanskrit term comprising two words – Rudra (Shiva) and Aksha (Tears), meaning droplets of Shiva’s tears. Devotees invariably wear these beads to express their devotion to Shiv and lead a serene life while strengthening their connection to the deity.

Snake Garland around his Neck :

The Serpent on Shiva’s neck signifies the eternal cycle of birth and renewal. Another symbolism is that the snake on the neck denotes Ego, which can be worn as an adornment once dominated.

Tiger Skin :

Represents his victory over the actuality, the entire universe thrives within Shiva & he is the essence of all cosmic forces.

Crescent Moon on his Forehead :

Outlines the Eternal Reality, as Lord Shiva is beyond time.

Damaru (Drum) :

The hourless drum of Kedarnath (Lord of Mount Kedar) embodies the creation through sacred sound vibrations.

The conception of the universe transpires when Lingam (Universe’s cycle of creation & dissolution) and Yoni (Nature’s gateway of all births) unite at the core of the Damaru. The destruction ensues when they depart from each other.

His Matted Hair :

It symbolizes the unification of the mind, body, and soul. It doesn’t matter if you wish to work better, stay fit or study hard; you need to unite your mind, body, and spirit to accomplish anything.

River Ganges streaming from his Matted Locks :

Talks about the end of ignorance and the progress of spiritual wisdom emanating from one generation to another.

Third Eye :

Third Eye is the gate leading to the hidden realms and spaces of higher awareness. It illustrates Lord Shiva’s ability to eliminate earthly desires and win over temptations. 

The locus of esoteric energy and wisdom on the forehead of a divinity. Shiva’s Third Eye is positioned on his forehead, and most of the time remain closed. However, when Lord Shiva reveals his Third Eye, it destroys everything that it views. 

Meditative Pose :

Indicates that in day-to-day living, one should be mindful as if you are in the meditation pose. Patience during mundane aids in attaining favourable outcomes. 

Blue Throat :

The name Nilakaṇtha (Nila = Blue, Kaṇtha = Throat). Since Lord Shiva consumed the poison stirred up from the Samudra Manthan (Churning of the Ocean) to save the Devas (Gods) & Asuras (Demons) from its disruptive influence.

Smeared Ashes :

The reminder that all material reality is fleeting, It comes to an end turning to ashes, and one should disengage from the attachments and focus inwards to attain spiritual liberation.

Kamandalam (Water Pot) :

Depicts the elixir of life, thus a symbol of fertility, growth and abundance.

Nandi :

Mahadev’s ardent disciple, the sacred bull, the gatekeeper, and the vehicle. Nandi is the closest accomplice to Lord Shiva because he is the essence of receptivity. 

It is believed that if one whispers their requests to Nandi, they shall reach Lord Shiva directly. We see sitting Nandi (Bull) in almost all the Shiv temples, which talks about the Loyalty that’s always appreciated and also signifies alertness.

My Two Cents:

Lord Shiva is my teacher and an ascended master, I have a powerful bond with. He teaches us patience, virtue, victory over Ego and inner strength. The course is full of trials and teachings, but he shall forever guide our path through the journey called life.

I connect with Lord Shiva through Dance, a door to self-expression, unifying body and soul to find your essence.

How do you connect to Lord Shiva? Which Ascended Master do you resonate with?

We would love to hear your story. Leave us, your comments.

Love & Light

Messenger Angel